Children

Children's Event Quick View

Today's Events

Full Calendar | Event Calendar RSS

Book Clubs for Kids

The Abington Public Library offers two book clubs for Abington children.  All book clubs meet on Monday evenings at 5:30pm from October to May with space for 15 participants in each club.  For more information, please see Amy or Sandy in the Children's Room. Check our these books that we read last school year.

(Sometimes schedules don't work out to attend book club, but these are still great lists of books for kids to read!)

Junior Cliffhanger Book Club for Kids and Parents introduces kids and parents to the art of talking about a book in a group setting.  Short novels encourage children to read critically.  Jr. Cliffhanger Book Club is for kids in grades 1 - 3 plus a parent reading partner.

Take a look at what we will be reading in book club this year!

Monday, October 2 - Leroy Ninker Saddles Up by Kate DiCamillo
Monday, November 6 - Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman
Monday, January 8 -Amber Brown is Not a Crayon by  Paula Danziger
Monday, February 5 - Owls in the Family by Farley Mowat
Monday, March 5 - Judy Moody & Stink: the mad, mad, mad, mad treasure hunt by Megan McDonald
Monday, April 2 - Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet by Jacqueline Kelly
Monday, May 7 - Wishtree by Katherine Applegate

Cliffhanger Book Club for Kids and Parents is for kids in grades 4 - 5  plus a parent reading partner.  What happens at book club?  We talk about favorite / least favorite characters, compare our funniest / strangest / saddest scenes, have a snack, hangout together and more!

Take a look at what we will be reading in book club this year!

Moinday, October 16 - Fish in a Tree by Linda Mullaly Hunt
Monday, November 13 - Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling
Monday, January  15 - The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
Monday, February 12 - Everything on a Waffle by Polly Horvath
Monday, March 12 - Three TImes Lucky by Sheila Turnage
Monday, April 9 - Holes by Louis Sachar
Monday, May 14 - TBA

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save


roundededge